Sonic Spring Disappointment

Sonic Spring, upper right

Sonic Spring, upper right

May 31, 2016.  Since, as I mentioned in my last post, I’ve got a one month membership for my third account and am trying to get through Zafaria, I’ve had a dilemma about the current Five B.O.X.E.S. quests.  There are some great crafting recipes now available in the B.O.X.E.S. for furniture and decorating items.  Unfortunately every recipe requires a Sonic Spring.  Sonic Springs are dropped in the B.O.X.E.S and not available anywhere else.

I’ve never done the quests very much so the accumulation of Sonic Springs on my accounts is negligible.  But I bought quite a few recipes for my top level wizards.  More recipes than I have Sonic Springs.

I’ve taken some time out here and there from my pursuit of getting through Zafaria with Heather G. and Jasmine R. to run some wizards from each account through some of the B.O.X.E.S. with disappointing results.

I don’t do the boxes too much because to me they’re a bit long and there’s way too much running around in them.  I’ve rarely gotten much in the way of drops that made it worthwhile to keep repeating them.  But suddenly I want Sonic Springs.

I hadn’t previously realized how rarely they drop.  All the extra time spent on it recently has garnered little help in collecting the one missing ingredient for my recipes.  Tonight, in fact, I put Rylee W. (level 85 Life, second account) through the Wizard City Box* FIVE times and got one spring, which you see above in her reagent list as seen right after completing the five rounds.

It’s another of those moments in the game where I’m failing to see the point of adding all these great recipes and then requiring an ingredient that’s so hard to get.  After all those attempts, I won’t be able to craft a bunch of the recipes I got until — MAYBE — the next time the Professor shows up.  And that’s only if I have better luck than this round.  So many ways in this game you can work your tail off and wind up with nothing to show for it.  Odd message to be giving children — theoretically the main intended audience…


*  I chose that one just because it’s the fastest to get through.  The down side of that, of course, is you’re not going to get any great drops for a high level wizard there so if you also don’t get a Sonic Spring, it’s pointless…

About yogaleigh

Twenty-five years and counting on spiritual, personal growth journey. I've been to Nine Gates Mystery School, practiced yoga since 1985 and taught it off and on for the last 10 years. I've sat vipassana, studied with a Hopi elder for 2 years, practiced Hawaiian Huna, and dabbled in other traditions. Health and wellness have been very tied up in my journey - in fact I'd say issues in those areas propelled me into the spiritual journey. Still learning, still growing -- sometimes I think I like the journey to enlightenment too much to wish to reach it.

Posted on June 1, 2016, in Uncategorized, Wizard 101, Wizard 101 basics, Wizard101 Basics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

