Endless worlds… after Dragonspyre

11/2/16

Starting Azteca_edited

When I gave up on Halloween at the end of last week I went back to questing in Azteca with Morgan (level 90, but not for long) and Rylee (just made level 90)…  which seems endless.  I wrote a post a while back on how endless Zafaria seemed.

This time I thought about the worlds I’ve done so far and realized there’s a distinct break after Dragonspyre.  I gather at one time Dragonspyre was as far as the game went and it may originally have been planned to be the final world.

Every world through that point has three basic areas and each of those is divided into about three areas (I’m thinking of Unicorn Way as kind of an intro and Colossus as a side deal; sometimes there’s an extra dungeon or side area or two, but the basic organization seemed to be three with three).  Nice and neat, nine areas, a final dungeon and on to the next world.  Starting in Celestia, though, the worlds are LOONNGG!  I’m assuming the ones I haven’t yet reached are also long slogs…

I kind of get why KI wants to extend everyone’s experience — to keep people engaged in playing the game longer.  But from the perspective of making it fun, for me it goes in the other direction.  Especially because there was such a rhythm to moving through the first five major worlds, I kind of expect that rhythm.

In each of these worlds I keep hitting a point where I figure I must be nearly done (generally at the end of the third major area 🙂 ) and I’m expecting to get a final dungeon quest but instead there’s another whole area, and then another, and then another…  It just feels endless and leaves me with a sense I’m working and working and not really getting anywhere.

I get why the health of the minions and bosses goes up.  I kind of get why there are more bosses with tricks — personally I don’t find that so much fun.  Things get harder as you go up.  And, I’ve said before,  I also see it’s a bit of a problem to be a game for all ages, trying to satisfy the needs of small children who need an easier game and older serious gamers who bitch about it not being tough enough. My personal feeling is there are plenty of tougher games out there— got play one of those.

I’m an adult player and I came to this game because I was looking for something reasonably easy that would just be fun.  I’ve really enjoyed the game and I particularly like the worlds through Dragonspyre, where getting through is relatively painless and reasonably fast.

The farther I go the more it seems more like work than fun.  Not to mention the constantly shifting end goal.  I finally got within 20 levels of the top–again– and I hear there’s about to be a new world and another 10 levels…  It’s happened several times that I’ve gotten close enough to feel I was getting there and suddenly I’m 30 levels away again.

Other than the obvious monetary benefit KI gets from making everything take longer, I don’t see why the players need to be dragged through worlds that seem never to end…

Save

Save

Save

About yogaleigh

Twenty-five years and counting on spiritual, personal growth journey. I've been to Nine Gates Mystery School, practiced yoga since 1985 and taught it off and on for the last 10 years. I've sat vipassana, studied with a Hopi elder for 2 years, practiced Hawaiian Huna, and dabbled in other traditions. Health and wellness have been very tied up in my journey - in fact I'd say issues in those areas propelled me into the spiritual journey. Still learning, still growing -- sometimes I think I like the journey to enlightenment too much to wish to reach it.

Posted on November 2, 2016, in Quirky Mysteries of the Spiral, Uncategorized, Wizard 101, Wizard 101 basics, Wizard101 Basics and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

